Betfred Derby (Group 1) (British Champions Series) (No Geldings) (Class 1) (3yo)

The Epsom Derby known simply in racing circles as “The Derby” is a Group 1 flat race which is run at Epsom Downs course. The current sponsor is Betfred.

The Derby is Britain’s richest flat horse race, and the most prestigious race in the flat racing calendar. It is often referred to as the “Blue Riband” of the turf.

This year’s race will be held on Saturday 3rd June 2023

The Derby is open to is open to three year old thoroughbred colts and fillies. It is run at Epsom over a distance of 1 mile 4 furlongs.

Previous Winners of The Derby

2022Desert CrownRichard KingscoteSir Michael Stoute39-25/2 F12 (17)117
2021AdayarAdam KirbyCharlie Appleby39-016/11 (12)107
2020SerpentineEmmet McNamaraAidan O’Brien39-025/112 (16)
2019Anthony Van DyckSeamie HeffernanAidan O’Brien39-013/27 (13)118
2018MasarWilliam BuickCharlie Appleby39-016/110 (12)117
2017Wings Of EaglesP B BeggyAidan O’Brien39-040/114 (19)109
2016HarzandPat SmullenDermot Weld39-013/2 3F9 (16)110
2015Golden HornFrankie DettoriJohn Gosden39-013/8 F8 (12)118
2014AustraliaJoseph O’BrienAidan O’Brien39-011/8 F12 (16)119
2013Ruler of the WorldRyan MooreAidan O’Brien39-07/1 3F10 (12)109
2012CamelotJoseph O’BrienAidan O’Brien39-08/13 F5 (9)119
2011Pour MoiMickael BarzalonaAndre Fabre39-04/1 2F7 (13)113

Epsom Derby – Statistics and Trends

Age – The race is only open to 3-year-olds.

Betting Market – Just 4 of the last 12 winners have been favourites, 8 of the 12 winners have been in the top 4 in the betting market. Starting price of the winner has ranged from 8/13 to 40/1 and 8 of the winners were priced at 7/1 or less.

Last Run – 8 of the last 12 winners won on their last outing before the Derby, 11 of the last 12 winners finished in the first 3 on their previous run. 11 of the last 12 winners ran between 23 and 55 days ago.

Course Form – None of the last 12 winners had ever run at Epsom.

Distance Form – 9 of the 12 winners had run over at least 1 mile 2 furlongs, all of them had run and won over at least 1 mile.

Flat Form – All of the 12 winners had at least 2 previous runs and all of them had recorded at least one win.

Official Rating – 11 of the 12 winners had been allocated an official rating. Those 11 winners had an official rating of between 107 and 119.

Group Race Wins – 9 of the 12 winners had won a Group race..

Season Form – All of the 12 winners had at least one run that season and 9 of them had recorded at least one win in that time.

Draw – The stall numbers of the winners over the last 12 years have ranged from 1 to 14 with 10 of the 12 winners drawn between 5 and 12.

Headgear – 10 of the 12 winners were without headgear. The other 2 wore cheekpieces.

Sex – All of the last 12 winners were colts.

Our Selection for The Derby

One Stop Racing’s selection for The Derby in 2023 will only be available to All Members of One Stop Racing on the morning of the race along with all the other ITV races that day.

Not a member yet? We have monthly, quarterly and annual options depending on how much you want to save.

Become a Tips Member!

Daily horse racing tips from Monday to Saturday, including the best selection (Nap of the Day), each-way picks (Little Earner). Also the Saturday Lucky 15, PLUS tips for all races shown on ITV, ITV4, and ITV3, including Sundays. Also tips for every race at major events like the Cheltenham Festival (28 races, including 14 Grade 1’s), Aintree Grand National Festival (21 races, including 10 Grade 1’s and the Randox Grand National Steeple Chase), and Royal Ascot (35 races, including 8 Group 1’s).

© 2023, One Stop Racing. All rights reserved.

One Stop Racing